What is Title l?

 School-wide Title I Programs Title I is the largest Federal Aid Program for Elementary, Middle, and High Schools. Through Title I, the Federal Government gives money to school districts nation-wide based on the number of low income families in each district. Each district uses its money for extra educational services for  children most in need of improvement in the standards-based skills of Reading and/or Math.

School City of East Chicago (SCEC) - Grades PreK-12 - School-wide Title 1 Program

 

 

Title 1 Office Team

Federal Projects Director Cynthia Castro 219-391-4100 ext. 12341 ccastro@ecps.org
Cares Act Coordinator Luz Perez 219-391-4100 ext. 14186 lperez@ecps.org
Cares Act Coordinator Wanda Anderson 219-391-4100 ext. 12359 wanderson@ecps.org
District Parent Coordinator Sylvia Alvarez 219-378-7352 salvarez@ecps.org

 

Family Resource Center

Welcome to the Family Resource Center! Every school has a place that is set aside for the purpose of making school accessible and helpful to family members, while encouraging involvement in their child’s learning, known as a Family Resource Center. Parents and guardians are welcome to come in and talk to a Teacher Liaison; your direct link to the school and all the resources! Get information about events, volunteer opportunities, community resources, health care options, and so much more, designed to support parents and provide them with the tools, knowledge, and skills they need to further enable their children to be successful and complete their education. Friendly Parent Liaisons are available to answer any questions and help parents and guardians get the information they desire. The School City of East Chicago Family Resource Center’s provide:

  • a place where parents and guardians can get information on a variety of topics and programs
  • information on a variety of community resources
  • a meeting place for parents
  • a place where parents are always welcome                    

For more information, please contact the Teacher Liaison at your child’s school, who is happy to help you

Teacher Liaisons

Each school has a teacher liaison to help parents and guardians get information and resources. Below is a list of each school's teacher liaison and their contact information.
 
Carrie Gosch Early Learning Center Jacquelyn Snyder 219-391-4172 jsnyder@ecps.org
Harrison Elementary School Ava Bell 219-391-4192 abell@ecps.org
Lincoln Elementary School Veronica Ayala 219-391-4084 vayala@ecps.org
  Martha Purcell 219-391-4077 mpurcell@ecps.org
McKinley Elementary School Wanda Clark 219-391-4186 wclark@ecps.org
Washington Elementary School Martha Purcell 219-391-4077 mpurcell@ecps.org
Block Middle School Veronica Ayala 219-391-4084 vayala@ecps.org
EC Central High School Trino Cavazos (9th grade) 219-391-4000 tcavazos@ecps.org
  Katrina Alexander (10th/12th grade) 219-391-4000 kalexander@ecps.org
  Josephine Hernandez (11th grade) 219-391-4000 jhernandez@ecps.org
 

Parent Complaints

1.  The School Board recognizes the teacher's lawful status of in loco parentis.
2.  Each school shall have signs posted near each entrance informing visitors that they must register in the office.  This shall be enforced at all times.
3.  Whenever a parent has a complaint against the actions of any teacher, the principal shall inform the parent of the procedures set forth in this section and arrange a conference between the parent, teacher, and principal during the teacher's preparation period, except that principal may call this conference immediately if deemed necessary.
4.  Should the conference including the superintendent or a designee, principal, and the teacher, only after the parent has made a final request in writing.  This request is to be submitted to the principal in triplicate, who will forward copies to the superintendent and the teacher.  The principal and teacher will submit their views of the incident in writing, as shall the parent.
5.  If the complaint is still not resolved after a meeting with the superintendent or a designee, the parent may request a conference with the Board and all the other parties.  Under no circumstances will the Board receive charges against a teacher by name in its public meeting.
6.  The Board shall hear both sides in private session and make its decision within ten days.
7.  If the Board decides that the teacher was acting properly in the performance of his/her duties, and the parent carries the case to a court of law, the Board will, upon request, provide the teacher with legal representation.
8.  The Union reserves the right to have a representative sit in or any of the above meetings if the teacher so desires.